Princeton Engineering’s Howard A. Stone and Ed Felten have just been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies. Other members elected to the academy this year include jazz icon Dave Brubeck, filmmaker Ken Burns, singer-songwriter Paul Simon, actor Sam Waterston, and Nobel laureate writer Mario Vargas Llosa, who last semester was a Distinguished Visitor in Princeton’s Program in Latin American Studies.

Felten, director of the Center for Information Technology Policy, is currently on leave from Princeton for a year to serve as the Federal Trade Commission’s chief technologist. Scientific American has called him “one of the most incisive minds of the digital age.”

Stone, the Donald R. Dixon ’69 and Elizabeth W. Dixon Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace, works at the interface of chemistry, physics, and engineering and has contributed to new ways of understanding a wide range of problems involving microfluidics, surface tension, and thin film flows. In 2008 he received the Batchelor Prize, the most prestigious prize in the field of fluid mechanics. In 2009 he was elected to the National Academy of Engineering.

Princeton Engineering faculty who have been elected to the academy in past years include Emily Carter, Pablo Debenedetti, Chung Law, and Marlan Scully.

Tagged with: