Today’s Daily Princetonian has some nice coverage on the election of four Princeton faculty members to the National Academy of Sciences — which, as the Prince notes, has been described as “an honor considered second only to a Nobel Prize.”

Two of the new NAS members are with the school of engineering: H. Vincent Poor *77, dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Science and Michael Henry Strater University Professor of Electrical Engineering, and Loren Pfeiffer, a senior research scholar in the department of electrical engineering.

Poor’s research in statistical signal processing and stochastic analysis has had important implications for wireless networks. Pfeiffer’s work in materials science has facilitated discoveries in condensed matter physics.

The other Princeton faculty elected to NAS this year are mathematics professor David Gabai and sociology professor Sara McLanahan.